↑ to top ↑

Our Commitment to Climate Protection

Since 1 October 2021, all locations of our agency network in Germany have been climate neutral.

We are thus continuing our long-standing and diverse commitment to the environment and climate protection across the entire organisation. Our agency brands include Batten & Company, BBDO, Interone, Proximity, Proximity Technology and the Peter Schmidt Group. Fully supported by our 2,500 employees at seven locations in Germany and our clients, we apply creative and innovative thinking to continue to work consistently on making our processes, products and services sustainable and are pleased with the milestones we have already reached. We support international climate protection projects as well as initiatives and programs in Germany. All our colleagues help decide which projects we are involved with.

What we have already achieved in the past few years

Since 2015, we have been able to reduce our greenhouse gas emissions by 65 %.
For five years, we have been analysing and reducing our energy consumption and emissions with an ISO-certified energy and environmental management system. This includes a comprehensive energy-saving concept, the switch to green electricity, and a sustainable waste, travel and mobility concept. We have already received awards for our commitment, for example in the "Mobil Gewinnt" competition organised by the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure. The international CSR rating platform Ecovadis awarded us a silver medal in 2021 - here we rank among the top 8 % in our industry. A look at our achievements:

In 2015, we signed the
UN Global Compact.

Five years ago, we established an energy and environmental management system in accordance with ISO standards 50001 (energy) and 14001 (environment). Since then, we have been working to continuously reduce energy consumption and CO2 emissions. This makes us one of the few ISO-certified agency groups in the market.

Even before the pandemic, we reduced our air travel by more than a third.

Almost all of our offices use green electricity.

Since 2019, we have been sustainably expanding and converting our transportation options, both for employee commuting and for business trips. We have launched a comprehensive plan to convert to electrify our company cars. We promote employee mobility by supporting site-specific measures such as the expansion of charging and bicycle storage infrastructure, company bikes, JobRad bikes and the use of public transport.

A comprehensive energy-saving program is still helping us reduce our energy consumption after five years.

In 2021, we rolled out a new waste concept that focuses on waste prevention.

We pay attention to the purchase of sustainable products. In our sustainability commitment, there will be an intensive focus on our supply chain in the future.

We continue to invest in CO2 reduction and offset unavoidable emissions with certified climate protection projects. For the year 2020, we have worked with ClimatePartner to create a Corporate Carbon Footprint for BBDO Group Germany, Omnicom Media Group and the Ketchum Group.

This is based on the strict guidelines of the Greenhouse Gas Protocol and covers all three scopes (Link einbauen) including commuting and home office. In 2020, the business activities of the three groups generated 4,903 tonnes of CO2e. According to ClimatePartner, this is already a very good level compared with the rest of the industry.

»We are pleased that we have already been able to make such great progress on the topic of sustainability in recent years and have progressively reduced our ecological footprint,« says Stephanie Pahmeyer, Director of Sustainability at BBDO Group Germany.

Our Commitments and Awards

We have joined the United Nations Global Compact and are committed to upholding its 10 principles.

In 2015, we introduced an energy and environmental management system in accordance with ISO standards 50001 (energy) and 14001 (environment). This system is audited annually by external partners.

We also receive many international awards for our work for a sustainable future on behalf of our clients. Our most recent example is Eurythenes plasticus for the WWF.

The international CSR rating platform Ecovadis has awarded us the silver medal in 2021 – here we rank among the top 8 % in our industry. (PDF)

In 2017, our mobility concept won one of the main prizes in the "Mobil Gewinnt" competition organised by the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure.

We are an active member of the Driversity network to jointly develop concepts for modern and sustainable mobility.

»Each and every one of us can and should commit to a sustainable future, but only together can we actively advance climate protection. I am very happy that we are taking responsibility for a strong and sustainable economy by combing the collaborative strength of our agency colleagues and our clients.«
Marianne Heiß, CEO of BBDO Group Germany

Our Sustainability Experts

Since 2015, our Sustainability Team, led by Stephanie Pahmeyer, has been taking care of our overall environmental commitment. In addition, more than 40 of our colleagues work as greenkeepers in the individual agencies, implementing measures directly on site, setting new standards and developing ideas for an even more sustainable agency life.

At the beginning of 2021, we also installed a CSR board to strategically develop the topic at executive level. We organise sustainability events for our employees. Our agencies also coach and train their employees on the topic of sustainability and train experts who then support their clients as sustain­ability advisors.

Our Principles and Our Inter­national Sustain­ability Commitment

We have established our vision of a sustainable agency world, our principles and commitments in a group-wide energy and environmental policy.

Sustainability is a top priority for us throughout the Omnicom Holding network and we are driving the issue forward with great vigour. We document our progress in the global CSR report, among other things.

↑ nach oben ↑

Unser Engagement für den Klimaschutz

Seit 1. Oktober 2021 sind sämtliche Standorte unserer Agentur­marken in Deutsch­land klima­neutral.

Damit führen wir unser langjähriges und vielfältiges Umwelt- und Klimaschutz­engagement gruppen­übergreifend weiter. Zu unseren Agenturmarken gehören Batten & Company, BBDO, Interone, Proximity, Proximity Technology und die Peter Schmidt Group. Gemeinsam mit 2.500 Mitarbeitenden an sieben deutschen Stand­orten, unseren Kunden und kreativen wie inno­vativen Ideen arbeiten wir konsequent weiter daran, unsere Prozesse, Produkte und Angebote nach­haltig zu gestalten und freuen uns über die Meilen­steine, die wir bislang schon erreicht haben. Wir unterstützen internationale Klimaschutzprojekte ebenso wie Initiativen und Programme in Deutschland. Für welche Projekten wir uns engagieren, entscheiden dabei alle Kolleg:innen mit.

Was wir in den vergangenen Jahren
schon erreicht haben

Seit 2015 konnten wir unsere Treib­haus­gas-Emissionen bereits um 65 % senken.
Seit fünf Jahren analysieren und reduzieren wir mit einem ISO-zertifizierten Energie- und Umwelt­manage­ment unsere Energie­ver­bräuche und Emissionen. Dazu gehört ein um­fass­endes Energie­spar­konzept, die Umstellung auf Ökostrom sowie ein nach­haltiges Abfall-, Reise- und Mobilitäts­konzept. Für unser Engagement wurden wir bereits aus­gezeichnet, zum Beispiel im Wettbewerb „Mobil Gewinnt“ vom Bundes­ministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infra­struktur. Die inter­nationale CSR-Rating Platt­form Ecovadis hat uns 2021 mit der Silber­medaille ausgezeichnet – hier gehören wir zu den besten 8 % unserer Branche. Ein Blick auf unsere Erfolge:

2015 haben wir den
UN Global Compact unterzeichnet.

Vor fünf Jahren haben wir ein Energie- und Umwelt­management­system nach den ISO-Normen 50001 (Energie) und 14001 (Umwelt) etabliert. Wir arbeiten seitdem an der kontinuier­lichen Redu­zierung der Energie­verbräuche und CO2-Emissionen. Damit zählen wir zu einer der wenigen ISO-zertifizierten Agentur­gruppen auf dem Markt.

Bereits vor der Pandemie haben wir unsere Flugkilometer um mehr als ein Drittel reduziert.

Fast alle unsere Stand­orte beziehen Ökostrom.

Unser Mobilitäts­angebot bauen wir seit 2019 nachhaltig aus- und um, das gilt sowohl für die Mit­arbeit­enden­mobilität auf den Arbeits­wegen als auch für Dienst­reisen. Wir haben ein umfassendes Konzept für die Elek­trifizierung der Dienst­wagen auf den Weg gebracht. Wir fördern die Mit­arbeitenden­mobilität indem wir standort­spezi­fische Maß­nahmen wie den Ausbau der Lade­infra­struktur und von Rad­stell­plätzen, Dienst­räder, Jobrad sowie die Nutzung des öffentlichen Verkehrs unterstützen.

Ein um­fassendes Energie­spar­programm hilft uns auch nach fünf Jahren noch bei der Redu­zierung unserer Energie­verbräuche.

2021 haben wir ein neues Abfall­konzept ausgerollt, dessen Schwer­punkt auf der Abfallvermeidung liegt.

Wir achten auf den Einkauf nach­haltiger Produkte. In unserem Nach­haltig­keits­engagement wird künftig ein inten­siver Fokus auf unserer Liefer­kette liegen.

Wir investieren weiter in die CO2-Reduktion und kompen­sieren nur die nicht vermeidbaren Emissionen mit zertifi­zierten Klima­schutz­projekten. Für das Jahr 2020 haben wir zusammen mit Climate­Partner einen Corporate Carbon Footprint (Unternehmens-CO2-Fußabdruck) für die BBDO Group Germany, die Omnicom Media Group und die Ketchum-Gruppe erstellt.

Dieser beruht auf den strengen Richt­linien des Green­house Gas Protocol und umfasst alle drei Scopes inklu­sive Arbeits­wege und Home­office. Im Jahr 2020 wurden durch die Geschäfts­aktivitäten der drei Gruppen 4.903 t CO2e verursacht. Das entspricht im Branchen­vergleich laut ClimatePartner bereits einem sehr guten Wert.

»Wir freuen uns, dass wir in den vergangenen Jahren bereits so große Fortschritte beim Thema Nach­haltigkeit erzielen konnten und unseren öko­logischen Fuß­abdruck sukzessive erfolg­reich reduziert haben«, sagt Stephanie Pahmeyer, Director Sustainability der BBDO Group Germany.

Unsere Selbstverpflichtungen und Auszeichnungen

Wir haben uns dem United Nations Global Compact der UNO angeschlossen und verpflichten uns, die 10 Prinzipien einzuhalten.

2015 haben wir ein Energie- und Umwelt­manage­ment­system nach den ISO-Normen 50001 (Energie) und 14001 (Umwelt) einge­führt. Jährlich wird dieses System von externen Partnern überprüft.

Auch für unsere Arbeiten für eine nach­haltige Zukunft im Auftrag unserer Kunden werden wir vielfach inter­national ausgezeichnet. Unser jüngstes Beispiel ist Eury­thenes plasticus für den WWF.

Die inter­natio­nale CSR-Rating Platt­form Ecovadis hat uns 2021 mit der Silber­medaille aus­gezeichnet – hier gehören wir zu den besten 8 % unserer Branche. (PDF)

2017 hat unser Mobilitäts­konzept im Wett­bewerb „Mobil Gewinnt“ vom Bundes­ministerium für Verkehr und digi­tale Infra­struktur einen der Haupt­preise gewonnen.

Wir sind aktives Mit­glied im Driversity-Netzwerk, um gemein­sam Kon­zepte für moderne und nach­haltige Mobili­tät zu entwickeln.

»Jede:r einzelne von uns kann und sollte sich für eine nach­haltige Zukunft engagieren, aber nur gemeinsam können wir den Klima­schutz aktiv voran­bringen. Ich freue mich sehr, dass wir gemein­sam mit den Kolleg:innen unserer Agenturen, unseren Kunden und kollaborativer Kraft Verantwortung für eine starke und nachhaltige Wirtschaft übernehmen
Marianne Heiß, CEO der BBDO Group Germany

Unsere Nachhaltig­keits­expert:innen

Bereits seit 2015 kümmert sich unser Sustainability-Team unter der Leitung von Stephanie Pahmeyer um das übergreifende Umwelt­engage­ment. Zusätzlich betreuen mehr als 40 unserer Kolleg:innen als Green­keeper:innen in den einzelnen Agenturen direkt vor Ort die Umsetzung von Maßnahmen, setzen neue Impulse und entwickeln Ideen für ein noch nach­haltigeres Agentur­leben.

Anfang 2021 haben wir zusätzlich ein CSR-Board installiert, um das Thema auf Vorstands­ebene strate­gisch weiter­zu­entwickeln. Wir veranstalten für unsere Mitarbeit­enden Nach­haltig­keits­events. Unsere Agenturen coachen und schulen ihre Mitarbeit­enden außerdem zum Thema Sustain­ability und bilden Expert:innen aus, die den Kunden im Anschluss als Sustain­ability-Berater:innen zur Seite stehen.

Unsere Grundsätze und unser inter­nationales
Nachhaltig­keits­engagement

Wir haben unsere Vision von einer nachhaltigen Agenturwelt, unsere Grundsätze und Verpflichtungen in einer gruppenweiten Energie- und Umwelt­politik festgehalten.

Nachhaltigkeit schreiben wir im gesamten Netzwerk der Omnicom-Holding groß und treiben das Thema mit viel Kraft voran. Unsere Fortschritte dokumentieren wir unter anderem im globalen CSR-Report.